Hair Care, Hair Treatments, Moisture, Natural Hair, Product Review

Q-Redew: A Review

As you can tell from previous posts, I am an avid believer in moisturizing your hair. IT IS ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY!!!!  So today I am going to talk about steaming your hair. Hydration treatments are the rave in the natural hair care community. There are numerous ways to apply steam treatments to the hair. You have tabletop steamers, handheld steamers and the good ole’ shower cap method of steaming.

When I was a loose nappy, I swore by my bi-weekly steam treatments. I would use a floor-stand steamer from Salon Pro. When I eventually loc’d my hair, I still continued with the steam treatments. I always viewed my steaming time as a luxury in-home spa treatment…don’t judge me! I would spend well over an hour on my treatment from beginning to end. But alas, that had to come to an end once I had my little princess. Mommyhood does not always allow for hour-long or more hair treatments. With that, I discovered the wonder of Q-Redew handheld hair steamer. This little beauty packs a lot of steam for its size. I can get all of the benefits of steaming with this handheld beauty….in an increment of the time.

Q Redew Handheld Hair Steamer

Q Redew Handheld Hair Steamer

I can easily incorporate the use of this steamer into my morning prep routine. I literally steam my locs for about 15 to 20 minutes and my limp but textured locs are revived….and moisturized! There are a numerous benefits of steaming your hair:

– promotes elasticity and strength

– adds moisture and revives curls and hairstyles without having to start the styling process over again. (Imagine restyling your hair every day!) Also, constantly re-wetting and drying the hair can over-stress the hair and cause dryness and breakage due to the repeated expanding and contracting of the hair.

– allows for moisture without soaking your tresses! ….and steaming defines your natural curl pattern and adds volume.

– steaming gently lifts the cuticle layer and allows for greater penetration of hair products.

– aids in the reduction of dandruff. Consistent steam treatments keep the moisture levels in the scalp balanced thus reducing the occurrence of dry scalp and dandruff.

The lovely vlogger Jouelzy did a great video on her use of the QRedew steamer. You can check it out here: http://youtu.be/YzY1fuVxw7c. And you can get more info on the QRedew by going to their website http://www.qredew.com/ .

Do you steam? If so, tell me about your treatments in the comments! I would love to hear from you!

xoxo

Your Loc’d Confidant

Standard

Leave a comment